First, I assume you can move into close combat, but you do not get the charge bonus if you just move.A model may make a double move and enter Combat only
as a charge move. This movement must be in a straight line
and must bring you into Contact with another model
Now some charge questions.
1) I assume this is a legal charge. Bullseye full-moved twice in a straight line into base to base contact.
2) I think this is legal too. A Move is up to 4", so this looks like a valid double move.
3) This is dodgy since Bullseye could have covered this ground in one move. But again, 2" is a valid move and by doing it twice, he could not do a useful second action this turn. I would play this as a legal charge.
4) This clearly violates the "in a straight line" part, so I expect you say this is not a charge. But Bullseye did make two moves and example (3) shows 4" in a straight line is enough to get up a good head of steam and get charge bonus. I still expect a "no" for this.
Finally a related question about run.
Would (4) be a legal run into Close Combat? It sounds like no. Or does the quoted rule mean "you cannot get the charge bonus if you run into combat". But it does not sound like that. So if it's a hard "no", what exactly happens? You run into base-to-base contact but there is no Close Combat. Or you cannot run into base-to-base contact and must stop a little short?You may not run and engage in Close Combat.